2017 Review

The 6th annual Football Business Awards was held at Tobacco Dock on November 2. It was another great night celebrating the football industry successes with our host Mark Chapman.

2017 Gallery


2017 Winners & Finalists

Best Club Marketing Initiative – Premier League

Winner: Swansea City AFC

Silver: Southampton FC

Bronze: Everton FC

  • Liverpool FC
  • Tottenham Hotspur FC
  • West Ham United FC

Read more >

Best Club Marketing Initiative – non Premier League

Winner: Wolverhampton Wanderers FC

Silver: Aston Villa FC

Bronze: Brentford FC

  • Brighton & Hove Albion FC
  • Huddersfield Town FC
  • St Johnstone FC
  • Wycombe Wanderers FC

Read more >

Best Professional Service Business Serving Football

Winner: Smith & Williamson

Silver: Pinsent Masons

Bronze: Verisona Law

  • Coutts
  • KSS

Read more >

Best Use of Technology in Football (non club specific)

Winner: adi.tv & Supponor

Silver: STATSports Group

Bronze: OptaPro

  • ATPI Sports Events
  • Sportswik
  • StreamAMG

Read more >

 Best Football Club Hospitality

Winner: Chelsea FC

Silver: Arsenal FC

Bronze: St Johnstone FC

  • Middlesbrough FC
  • Club Wembley One Twenty (submitted by Portview Fit-Out)

Read more >

Best Football Community Scheme

Winner: Albion in the Community (Brighton & Hove Albion FC)

Silver: Everton in the Community

Bronze: Watford Football Club’s Community Sports and Education Trust

  • Burnley FC in the Community
  • Fulham FC Foundation
  • City in the Community

Read more >

Innovation Award

Winner: Emirates FA Cup Story – Mischief PR

Silver: Huddersfield Town FC

Bronze: Rangers FC

  • adi.tv & Supponor
  • Everton FC
  • Sport Structures

Read more >

Agency of the Year

Winner: WePlay

Silver: Sportquake

Bronze: Reading Room

  • Designwerk
  • Octagon
  • Seven League

Read more >

Best Business Serving Football – up to £2m turnover

Winner: Piglets Pantry

Silver: Sporting Memories Network

Bronze: ESF Events

  • All In Translations
  • Oaks Consultancy
  • Sport Structures
  • Winners FDD

Read more >

Best Non-match Day use of Venue

Winner: Manchester City FC – City Football Academy

Silver: Anfield

Bronze: West Ham United FC

  • Emirates Stadium
  • Stamford Bridge

Read more >

Best Brand Activation Involving Football

Winner: Betstars and Leicester City FC

Silver: NIVEA MEN and Liverpool FC

Bronze: Betsafe and Manchester City FC

  • SportPesa and Everton FC
  • Hull City
  • Manning Gottlieb OMD for Virgin Media
  • Reflect Digital
  • WallJAM

Read more >

Best Fan Engagement by a Club

Winner: Sunderland AFC

Silver: Manchester City FC

Bronze: Tottenham Hotspur FC

  • Arsenal FC
  • Leyton Orient FC, Kick it Out & the Football Supporters’ Federation (FSF)
  • Liverpool FC
  • Rangers FC

Read more >

Best Business Serving Football – over £2m turnover

Winner: St. George’s Park

Silver: Portview Fit-Out

Bronze: Levy UK

  • adi.tv
  • Arena Seating
  • Reading Room
  • STATSports Group
  • StreamAMG

Read more >

Best Use of Technology in a Football Club

Winner: Manchester City FC with SAP

Silver: Leicester City FC with Seven League

Bronze: Derby County FC with NewTek

  • Aston Villa FC
  • Hull City

Read more >

 Best Corporate Social Responsibility Scheme

Winner: Burnley FC in the Community

Silver: Liverpool FC

Bronze: Swansea City AFC

  • Everton in the Community
  • The Football Foundation

Read more >

Sponsorship Deal / Partnership of the Year

Winner: Avon & Liverpool Ladies FC

Silver: Beko & FC Barcelona

Bronze: Virgin Media & The Football Supporters’ Federation

  • Betstars and Leicester City FC
  • Marathonbet & Hibernian FC

Read more >

fcbusiness CEO of the Year sponsored by SeatGeek

Overall Winner: Daniel Levy, Tottenham Hotspur

  • Premier League CEO of the Year – Daniel Levy, Tottenham Hotspur
  • Championship CEO of the Year – John Kay, Preston North End
  • League One CEO of the Year – Stephen Bettis, Sheffield United
  • League Two CEO of the Year – Gary Sweet, Luton Town
  • SPFL CEO of the Year – Duncan Fraser, Aberdeen FC


fcbusiness European CEO of the Year sponsored by NuCalm

Winner: Vadim Vasilyev – AS Monaco

  • Italy: AS Roma – Umberto Gandini
  • Germany: FC Bayern Munich – Karl-Heinz Rummenigge
  • Holland: AFC Ajax – Edwin Van Der Sar
  • Spain: Real Madrid – Florentino Pérez Rodríguez