Vichai Srivaddhanaprabha Lifetime Contribution to the Business of Football

Leicester City stepped forward to receive the Outstanding Contribution Award on behalf of the club’s late owner Vichai Srivaddhanaprabha at last night’s Football Business Awards.

The announcement received a standing ovation and a minute’s applause from the 450 guests attending the ceremony and is just the third time in the award’s history that it has been awarded.

The football family joined together at the Football Business Awards to pay tribute to Srivaddhanaprabha, the enormous impact of his leadership on Leicester City Football Club and the wider football community.

Leicester City Finance Director Simon Capper was in attendance to accept the award on behalf of the club.

“People often talk about the Football Family. In the last few weeks we have felt the power of its friendship and compassion,” said Capper.

“On behalf of everyone at Leicester City Football Club I would like to thank you all for your support and kindness. We are immensely proud to receive this award on behalf of Vichai, the club and all of its supporters.

“Vichai’s contribution to Leicester was immeasurable and to receive the recognition fills us with gratitude and pride.”

Under Srivaddhanaprabha’s ownership, Leicester City achieved promotion to the Premier League in 2014 and defied odds to win the 2015/2016 title in what was undoubtedly one the league’s most remarkable success stories.

Tony Adams Global Football Ambassador


Best Use of Technology in Football – Catapult Sports


Best Football Club Hospitality – Liverpool FC


Best Football Community Scheme – non Premier League – Kew Park Rangers


Best Football Community Scheme – Premier League – Everton in the Community


Agency of the Year – WePlay


Best Small Business Serving Football – Goodform


Best Brand Activation Involving Football – NISSAN & UEFA Champions League (Goal Studios)


Best Brand Activation Involving a Club – FC Barcelona and Beko


Best Fan Engagement by a Club – Leicester City FC & DJS Research


Innovation Award – Manchester City FC


Best Large Business Serving Football – STATSports Group


Best Corporate Social Responsibility Scheme – Everton in the Community


Sponsorship / Partnership of the Year – Norwich City FC & Aviva


Best Club & Supporters Group relationship – Fulham FC & Fulham Supporters Group


Best Club Marketing Initiative – Non Premier League – Sunderland AFC – Big Seat Change event


Best Club Marketing Initiative – Premier League – Manchester United FC – STAYUNITED


Scottish Premier League fcbusiness Magazine CEO of the Year Award – Ann Budge (Heart of Midlothian)


Premier League fcbusiness Magazine CEO of the Year Award – David Baldwin (Burnley FC)


Championship League fcbusiness Magazine CEO of the Year Award – Alistair Mackintosh (Fulham FC)


League One fcbusiness Magazine CEO of the Year Award – Erik Samuelson (AFC Wimbledon)


Overall fcbusiness Magazine CEO of the Year Award – Andy Holt (Accrington Stanley)